hostmedi.blogg.se

Real myst walkthrogh
Real myst walkthrogh




real myst walkthrogh

real myst walkthrogh real myst walkthrogh

I am still amazed at what an accomplishment this was. This game offered a glimpse of what was possible and drove demand for CD-ROM drives at that time.

#Real myst walkthrogh Pc

I played the game on a PC after it was released the following year, and what an eye opener it was. It's hard to believe that Myst was originally released way back in 1993 for the Macintosh computer. I mentioned Outer Wilds before because I think that game is currently the pinnacle of adventure/detective games–mostly because it makes sure to answer that specific question: "why would anyone build something this way?" You can use your reason in a game like that, because the developers made sure their world was a logical one in Myst, the developers were pioneering these designs, and hadn't realized yet that to ask the players to use logic means you need to build your world logically as well. Throughout my Myst experience, I kept asking myself "why would anyone build something this way?" and the game just shrugged its shoulders and threw another contrived puzzle at me. It invites the player to use their reason and intuition to reverse-engineer its world, but then throws arbitrary stumbling-blocks in the way of those skills. Myst is to Outer Wilds what the broom is to the vacuum cleaner I can certainly appreciate Myst's place in gaming history, but it is clearly experimenting with a design philosophy that has subsequently been improved upon and perfected.






Real myst walkthrogh